## **Detailed Description of the Paper of the Year Award**

Revised: 9/24/2015; 11/1/2021

The Paper of the Year Award is given to recognize a published, peer-reviewed paper that has made a significant contribution to advancing coastal or marine geography during the award year. Papers will be judged based on their scientific, technical, and/or methodological merits. Other factors to be gauged by the award committee include quality of the journal, co-authorship and innovation.

The Award is open to all papers on which a dues-paying member of the COMA specialty group is the sole or first author and which has been published in the peer-reviewed literature (not including books or book chapters) during the previous calendar year (e.g., the 2021 award is presented for a paper published in 2020). Papers appearing in early-release online format are eligible. Papers sole or first authored by a current COMA officer is not eligible.

Nominations for a given year's award may be made by any dues-paying COMA member until January 31 of the following year, by submitting a nomination in writing (e-mail is acceptable) to the Chair of the COMA specialty group. The nomination must include a copy or URL link to the paper for evaluation.

The nominated author, if attending the AAG Meeting, will present a brief summary of their work at the COMA Business Meeting prior to receiving with the award.

The Vice-Chair and officers (excluding the Chair unless the voting is tied) shall vote on the award during the first week in February, or prior to the annual business meeting. The winner will be notified immediately thereafter. No more than one award shall be given per year (some years may have no winner).

The winner of the Award will receive a commemorative plaque and letter of citation. Any co-authors will also receive a letter of citation. The paper and authors will be listed on the COMA web page and in the COMA newsletter.

Example Timeframe (e.g. 2021 Award):

January 1 - December 31, 2020 Paper is published

January 1, 2020 - January 31, 2021 Nominations are accepted

February 1 - 8, 2021 COMA Board votes

February 8, 2021 2021 Winner is notified

Spring, 2021 AAG Annual Meeting/COMA Business Meeting;

2021 Award winner is announced.

<sup>\*</sup>Formerly known as the Maury Award.